Traditional vs. Multimedia

When looking for stories comparing traditional journalistic stories versus those that are told, I immediately thought that some kind of feature story would be a good comparison. I read some where the written story was dry and the multimedia piece out shone it and seemed like the written part with it was unneccessary. However, with the story I found, both seemed to compliment one another. The written part was amazingly interesting or anything, but I definitely wasn’t bored or felt like I wanted to instantly stop reading. The multimedia piece was just an audio slideshow, which I felt worked very well since the focus was on the music.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/06/25/garden/25seen.html?_r=1&hp

1 Comment

Filed under Jordan Bergstrom

One response to “Traditional vs. Multimedia

  1. adamz253

    I really like the convergence of traditional media and new media. In this instance I feel the audio slide show accompanies the article in a very relevant way. It allows the user to see and hear the ambiance of the event, which is what multimedia aims at.

Leave a Reply

