Getting to Know Kevin Bronk

Writing + Photography + Skiing = Love

IMG_5713

After 19 years of skiing, Kevin Bronk would consider himself a ski enthusiast. Growing up in Littleton,Colorado it was the thing to do. Now, at 22, and after 4 ski-related knee surgeries, he considers himself a writer, art director, photographer hybrid, in addition to his talents at skiing.

Since he was young, writing stories had always been something he had enjoyed. The structure of high school and the way he was forced to write in classes killed the joy. However, his mother and an English teacher at his school had an idea to bring back that love. They convinced Kevin to try the newspaper class. Once he had a taste, the spark returned. “ I loved newspaper because I could write how I wanted to write again,” he said. When it was time for college and picking where he would spend the next 4 years, he says he considered the U of O for two obvious reasons. “ There was places to ski around,” he says, “ I walked around the campus for awhile and said OK, I can do this.” In addition to the mountains in close proximity, Kevin came for the School of Journalism & Communication. “ I originally thought I wanted to do News-Ed and Electronic Media, but when I found out what that really was I said NO.”  He then took Bill Ryan’s Visual Communication’s class and his vision for his career became clearer. “It was really fun and I got really into magazine,” he said. Now declared as a Magazine major with a minor in Multimedia, Kevin has realized his dream to be in design and art direction to compliment his writing.

Currently as an Art Associate for FLUX magazine, art director and incoming Editor-In-Chief for Ethos Magazine in the Fall, clearly Kevin is on his way towards a fantastic career in magazine when he leaves the U of O in the Spring of 2010. “ My ultimate goal is to work for FreeSkier Magazine in Boulder, CO. I love both facets of design and photography. But if I have to move anywhere for that amazing job…I will. Why not?”


Leave a comment

Filed under Jordan Bergstrom

Leave a Reply

