A Win For Free Culture!

Since we briefly discussed Creative Commons in class today, I’d like to take the opportunity to say that I am a huge proponent of free culture.

I think that current copyright laws are grossly out-dated and are completely ineffectual in a digital realm. As the internet is founded on the basis of sharing information and content, so should the copyright laws that deal with digital content.

Creative Commons provides us with this new “web-savvy” copyright.

And its working. Open source powerhouse Wikipedia (the most visited non-commercial site on the internet) had recently adopted a Creative Commons license. You can read about it here: http://creativecommons.org/weblog/entry/15411

This is a big step for free culture.  If Wikipedia can show to the world the effectiveness of Creative Commons, more and more people will begin to adopt  Creative Commons licenses and there will be more and more content out there that can be remixed, recreated, and redistributed. Thus creating a domino effect of more content freely available to creatives.

In a world of increasing  media consolidation, giving people the power to create and share creative works outside of the big media industries is essential for keeping some sense of our creative culture free.

I guess while I am on the subject I should plug my own CCMixter project. http://ccmixter.org/files/fixed_hesh/19905

I created this project from a collection of samples I found on CCMixter, a digital synth i created, and a guitar. I think that it illustrates what can be created when people share content they’ve made and allow it to be re-mixxed. My song is nothing like the samples it incorporates but wouldn’t have been possibel without them . Yay for free culture and Creative Commons.

2 Comments

Filed under Ian Summers

2 responses to “A Win For Free Culture!

  1. That’s some pretty cool stuff. The free culture/creative culture is pretty new to me so it’s cool to see what other people are doing with it. It definitely opens up a whole new world of opportunity that I’m sure people could do some amazing things with.

  2. jordanbergstrom

    I agree with you. I think that the current copyright laws are pretty old school. I like the new wave of creative commons and the ability for creative collaboration.

Leave a Reply

